Author Archives: oldglutton6

Crathes 8/1/20

Results, splits and RG link all on Gramp’s website.

Thanks to Sam and Lesley for starting us off well for the second half of the series.
Nice clear night with just a touch of frost later on and it was starting to feel properly wintery. Will we finally get a snowy DNC this year I wonder?

Carlogie 17/12/19

Balmedie 11/12/19


2 brilliantly fun criss-crossing courses using the best part of Balmedie promised and delivered tonight. Thanks to David and also Ian and Dennis for collecting.

Dinnet 4/12/19

Parking and registration at the Burn O’Vat car park.

Foggieton 27/11/19

Parking and registration at Cults Primary School
what3words: origin.fits.slips

Aiming to be ready by 17.30.  Courses close 20.00

Long course: 4.9km, 75m, 17 controls
Short course 3.1km, 60m, 12 controls

Safety: the long course crosses a fairly busy road twice: be careful!  The short course doesn’t cross any roads.



Coull 20/11/19

Thanks to Team Barrie for planning/hosting. Looks like a couple of tough, technical courses fulfilling the brief “TD5, no concessions to the dark” perfectly.

Hazlehead 13/11/19

Results, splits and RG on Gramp website

Glen O’Dee 6/11/19

Many thanks to Katja and Jonas for kicking things off last night and let’s hope that knicker-soaker of an evening yesterday wasn’t a sign of things to come!  The lovely sleek fox I scared up must have wondered what on earth we were doing out in that for fun rather than food.

Results will appear on the Maroc website.


DNC 2019/20

Two courses 3km and 5km at TD5/Green standard as far as possible. No concessions to the dark.

06  MAROC Glen O’Dee  Jonas Newey
13  GRAMP Hazlehead   Dennis McDonald
20  MAROC Coull  Adam Barrie
27  GRAMP Foggieton   Ian Hamilton
04  MAROC Dinnet   Ewan Musgrave
11  GRAMP Balmedie   David Esson
18  MAROC Carlogie  Drew Tivendale
08  GRAMP Crathes  Gomersalls
15  MAROC Corsedarder  Chris Low
22  GRAMP Forvie  Matt Parkes
29  MAROC Potarch  Alan Bennett
05  GRAMP Tyrebagger       Murray Anderson
12  MAROC Balnagowan   Catriona Chapman
19  GRAMP Scolty          Helen Rowlands
26  MAROC Dinnet        Clare/Ranolph Whitehead
04  GRAMP Glen Dye  Paul Duley
11  MAROC Tilquillie + meal/prize giving

Bring a spare torch/battery and wrap up warm or waterproof as appropriate.
Check here for updates to locations and snow reports etc. before travelling.

Seniors £5, Juniors £2.50
If you’re not yet TD5 (Green) standard then please find someone who is to run with the first couple of times so you can pick up tips on Night O navigation strategy.

Starts/Reg  18:00 – 19:00
Courses close 20:00/20:30 depending on the planner/area.

DNC 2018-19 Final results

Final rankings

Very nice meal enjoyed by all at the Burnett Arms. Big congratulations to all the prize winners.

Medium/Short Course:
Joint winners Nick Hale & Kirsty Campbell – Kirsty was also ladies winner
Andrew McMurtrie and Amber Graham were runners up
Sam Gomersall and Catriona Chapman third

Long Course:
Matthew Gooch and Eilidh Campbell were men’s and ladies winners
Sarah Dunn and Jon Musgrave runners up
Ewan Musgrave close on Jon’s heels in 3rd and Denise Wright 3rd lady

Much respect to David Esson and Ian Hamilton for attending every single event in the league! And who could forget the sandpaper blizzard at Balmedie – rightly voted toughest of the tough. Forvie was very narrowly pipped at the post by Glen O Dee as course of the year.

And a big congratulations to the British Night Champs winners also. I counted 22 podium places for Maroc/Gramp members. I think that is pretty amazing! Surely testament to the quality of the DNC series and the training and experience it offers to members.

I made it 639 individual runs this season. A little down on last years total of 694 but still impressive. Fantastic weather this season also. Hardly a flake of snow. Looking forward to maybe a couple more DNCs on Muir of Dinnet next season.